A. K. Hangal Biography



A.K. Hangal full name is Avtar Kishan Hangal. He was born on 1 February 1914 at Sialkot Punjub. He was an Indian freedom fighter from 1929 to 1947 and also stage actor from 1936 to 1965 and later became a character actor in Hindi language films from 1966 to 2005.

A. K. Hangal Born into a Kashmiri Pandit family, he spent his childhood and youth in Peshawar, where he had performed in theatre for some major roles. His family home was inside Reti Gate as mentioned in his memoirs. His father’s name was Pandit Hari Kishan Hangal. His mother’s name was Ragia Hundoo.

He started his Hindi film career at the age of 52 with Basu Bhattacharya’s Teesri Kasam in 1966 and Shagird, and went on to play as the man of principles playing the on-screen father or uncle of the leading men/women in the films in the 1970s, 1980s and 1990s, or sometimes the quintessential meek and oppressed old man.

The government of India awarded him the Padma Bhushan for his contribution to Hindi Cinema in 2006.

Hangal was admitted to the Asha Parekh Hospital in Santa Cruz, Mumbai on 16 August 2012. On 26 August, he was put on life support. He is also having respiratory problems.” But, his condition worsened and he died on the same day, at the age of 98.

Films List

2005 Mr Prime Minister
2008 Humsey Hai Jahaan
2012 Krishna Aur Kans
2005 Paheli
2005 Sab Kuch Hai Kuch Bhi Nahin
2004 Dil Maange More
2004 Hari Om
2003 Kahan Ho Tum
1998 Main Solah Baras Ki
1998 Zor: Never Underestimate the Force
1992 Laat Saab
1992 Meera Ka Mohan
1987 Mera Yaar Mera Dushman
1986 New Delhi Times
1984 Kahan Tak Aasmaan Hai

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.